The Claddagh Ring

4 Mar

Image

I consider myself to be the kind of person who isn’t frivolous in my spending. When I went to Ireland for the first time, I really tried not hyper aware of every penny I was spending because where’s the fun in that. Unfortunately, I was a little too aware. Here’s a story about learning the hard way about not spending when I should have.

In our Irish travels we came up the Claddagh fishing village in Galway where the Claddagh ring was originated. I got to learn about how the history of the ring and how it can be used as an engagement ring, wedding ring, and friendship ring and has others meanings. I also learned that it can signify different things depending on how it’s worn and in which finger it is worn on. I was pretty excited to be visiting the village with a rich ancient past dating back over 300 years. My husband and I went shopping around and I saw so many Claddagh rings and kept picking them up and putting them back down. I kept thinking I didn’t really need another ring. So we left with no ring. 

Immediately after we left Galway I regretted my decision to forgo buying the ring. It was a silly mistake that I still think about every time I see someone wearing that type of ring. My recommendation to anyone traveling and struggles with the same, “should I buy, shouldn’t I buy” to just buy it! I’m not talking about breaking the bank on one item, but remember there may never be that chance to visit that place again in your life. Live in the moment and remember that we don’t work hard to not spend our money!

Thank you for reading! If you’ve experienced this “why didn’t I buy remorse”, please leave it in a comment below. 

 Photo Credit: http://bestjewelryringssite.com/claddagh-ring-meaning.html

Leave a Reply

Tatiana's Values of Living

Living Life As If You Were Dying

Vance Alm's thoughts

Beer, wine, and other fine drinks

elliegoeseast.wordpress.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Avial Blog

Anything that caught my interest, from travel to social media

Stay active. Stay healthy. Stay you.

The elevator to success is out of order. You'll have to use the stairs... one step at a time.

LIFE'S STORIES & TRAVELS

© by Renata Schamle

Travelrific® Travel Journal

A blog for travel enthusiasts. Listen to our podcasts on the blogroll at Travelrific® Radio. Visit our Wanderful Places® Travel Shop for travel-inspired merchandise!

Not On A Digitized Road

Cynthia Paulauskas: Author, Auntie, and Adventurer

The Illuminated Graduate

Recording the opportunities, possibilities, and adventures of a USA student studying neuroscience in the UK.

Athletes Into Business

Blog By Janelle Batista

TravisChristiansen

Experience Outdoor Nevada

Brett King

Let us talk aviation at its finest

Jen's Fashion Blog

Life is a fashion show: Embrace it!

I'm In Love With Love

My Thoughts On Love and its Entirety

the path to world traveler

A blog by Aspiring International Traveler Lindsey Agrellas

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

